FARMINGTON CITY – SPECIAL CITY COUNCIL MINUTES BOARD OF CANVASSERS

December 6, 2023

Present:

Mayor Brett Anderson,Councilmember Melissa Layton,Mayor Pro Tempore/Councilmember ScottCouncilmember Alex Leeman,Isaacson,Councilmember Amy Shumway, andCouncilmember Roger Child,City Recorder DeAnn Carlile.

Mayor **Brett Anderson** called the work session to order at 5:00 p.m. Councilmembers participated electronically via Zoom.

Mayor Anderson said it was a good, clean election with good, clean nonpartisan campaigns that were not burdensome on residents. Everyone did their signs correctly and cleaned them up quickly.

Councilmember **Amy Shumway** said she likes the agreement that was put in place to not place signs early. She feels it is a tradition that should be continued. Councilmember **Melissa Layton** agreed.

The Board of Canvassers certified that incumbents **Scott Isaacson**, **Roger Child**, and **Amy Shumway** were duly elected to the office of City Council in the municipal general election held for Farmington City on November 21, 2023. The Municipal General Election was held by mail later than usual, as adjusted by the Utah Legislature in order to accommodate a special election for a seat in Congress. The three at-large City Councilmembers were elected for four-year terms.

Out of 13,867 total registered voters in Farmington, 5,105 cast ballots, in the 2023 General Municipal Election, for a total voter turnout of 36.81%. A total of 58 by-mail and provisional ballots were not counted: 2 for no proof of identity; 2 for no signature; 18 for no match of signature; and 36 for not being timely.

Candidate Amy Shumway received 3,448 votes; Scott Isaacson received 3,013; Roger Child received 2,478; Rebecca Wayment received 2,189; Laverne Schraedel received 723; and Rachel Stuker received 702.

Motion:

Mayor Pro Tempore/Councilmember **Scott Isaacson** moved that the City Council approve the Farmington General Election results and sign the Board of Canvassers letter (as included in the packet).

Councilmember **Alex Leeman** seconded the motion. All Council members voted in favor, as there was no opposing vote.

Mayor Pro Tempore/Councilmember Scott Isaacson	X Aye Nay
Councilmember Roger Child	X Aye Nay
Councilmember Melissa Layton	X Aye Nay
Councilmember Alex Leeman	X Aye Nay

Councilmember Amy Shumway	X Aye	Nay
<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>		
Motion:		
Shumway made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 5:04 p.m.		
Layton seconded the motion. All Council members voted in fav vote.	or, as there was no	pposing
Mayor Pro Tempore/Councilmember Scott Isaacson	X Aye	Nay
Councilmember Roger Child	X Aye	Nay
Councilmember Melissa Layton	X Aye	Nay
Councilmember Alex Leeman	X Aye	Nay
Councilmember Amy Shumway	X Aye	Nay
/s/ DeAnn Carlile		

DeAnn Carlile, Recorder